home arrow METRO arrow Education Foundation of PBC announces Distinguished Alumni

Login Form

Lost Password?
No account yet? Register
Education Foundation of PBC announces Distinguished Alumni PDF Print E-mail
Written by STAFF REPORT   
Monday, 17 December 2012

catherine-lowe_web.jpgWEST PALM BEACH — The Education Foundation of Palm Beach County, Inc. has announced the recipients of the 2013 Distinguished Alumni Awards, honoring county public school alumni who have distinguished themselves through achievement, service or contributions to society.

“Honoring alumni is the foundation’s way of celebrating the exemplary individuals who have graduated from our public school system and gone on to make great strides in life both professionally and philanthropically,” said Penny Rodgers, committee chair and foundation board member. “People go in various directions throughout their lives, but at the core it is our K-12 education that truly shapes the person we, one day, will become.”

A dinner and awards ceremony will be held Thursday, Feb. 28, 2013 at the West Palm Beach Marriott. Sponsorship opportunities, tables and tickets are available for purchase through the foundation at 561-434-8428 or This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Class of 2013 Inductees:

Lifetime Achievement: Owen H. Gassaway Jr., Florida Airmotive, Inc. (Posthumous); Palm Beach High.

Jason D. Brian, founder & CEO, AutoCricket.com; Palm Beach Gardens High.

Adam “AJ” Brockman, principal, Single Handed Studio; Palm Beach Gardens High.

Elvin J. Dowling, president & CEO, Global Image Consulting LLC; Palm Beach Lakes Community High.

Lee D. Kaplan, M.D., chief, Division of Sports Medicine, University of Miami; Palm Beach Gardens High.

Shannon LaRocque, PE, asst. county administrator, Board of County Commissioners; John I. Leonard High.

Catherine Lowe, M.D., L.L.D., president & owner, ophthalmologist; Lake Shore Junior/Senior High.

H. William Perry, managing shareholder, Gunster Law Firm; Palm Beach Gardens High.

Elizabeth Tiedemann Maass, Circuit Court judge, 15th Judicial Circuit (Retired); North Shore High.

Charles E. Shaw, chairman, Palm Beach County School Board; Forest Hill High.

Kelly L. Smallridge, president & CEO, Business Development Board; John I. Leonard High.

Susan Spencer-Wendel, reporter & author, The Palm Beach Post and Harper Collins, Forest Hill High.

*Pictured above is Catherine Lowe.

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
This content has been locked. You can no longer post any comments.

Last Updated ( Monday, 17 December 2012 )
< Prev   Next >
Samsung hooks unsuspecting ObamaSamsung hooks unsuspecting Obama
NEW YORK — The latest pitchman in Samsung’s marketing machine: an unwitting President Barack Obama. ...
Microsoft reveals Siri-like Windows Phone featureMicrosoft reveals Siri-like Windows Phone feature
NEW YORK — Microsoft unveiled a new virtual assistant for Windows Phone devices last Wednesday as it seeks to gain tra...
Nigeria’s Nollywood: most prolific movie machine Nigeria’s Nollywood: most prolific movie machine
LAGOS, Nigeria — A 15-second drum roll and the title of the film, Deceptive Heart, comes crashing onto the screen in a...
Israel Houghton and  New Breed close this season’s Gospel SundaysIsrael Houghton and New Breed close this season’s Gospel Sundays
If you have been putting off attending one of the free Gospel Sunday events at the Adrienne Arsht Center, here’s your las...

The most influential African American weekly newspaper in South Florida

Beatty Media LLC