Fort Lauderdale, Fla. – An NFL Hall of Famer, national recording artists and a captain in the United States Coast Guard are among the distinguished Broward County high school alumni who have made their mark on local communities and will be honored by the Broward Education Foundation The Publix Super Markets Charities 2020 “Hall of Fame Awards” will be presented by Memorial Healthcare System, Dec. 5 at 6 p.m.

The outdoor drive-in celebration will take place at William T. McFatter Technical College and High School, 6500 Nova Drive in Davie.

Tickets are $50 per person and sponsorships are still available. Visit, call 754-321-2030 or e-mail

As with all events, the coronavirus has changed the plans for this year’s Hall of Fame. Taking extra precautions and factoring in safety protocols and social distancing measures, the foundation will salute this year’s honorees with a first-ever drive-in event.

When the sun goes down, the fun begins. Guests will remain in their cars in the high school’s expansive parking lot and watch the awards onstage and on large screens. Audio will be streamed through car radios.

The 2020 Broward Education Foundation Hall of Fame honorees are: Receiving the JM Family Enterprises, Inc. Bravo Award for their positive impact on the lives of thousands of children are two talented Dillard High School graduates: national recording artists and cofounders of the group Black Violin, Wil Baptiste, class of 2000 and Kevin Marcus Sylvester, class of 1999.

Recipients of the Bank of America Community Achievement Award for significant accomplishments in any field are:

Isaac Bruce, former professional football player and member of the NFL Hall of Fame, owner of Bruce Zone and Dillard High School graduate, class of 1990;

Jo-Ann F. Burdian, sector commander and captain of the Port, United States Coast Guard, Sector Miami and Piper High School graduate, class of 1993; and Marty Kiar, Broward County property appraiser and Western High School graduate, class of 1995.

The three honorees receiving the Office Depot Education Achievement Award for their dedication to a career in public education are:

Amy DeCelle, medical magnet coordinator at Blanche Ely High School and graduate of Piper High School, class of 1993;

Mark Howard, principal of Hallandale Magnet High School and graduate of Nova High School, class of 1990; and Carletha B. Shaw-Rolle, Ph.D., educator and cadre director for Broward County Public Schools and graduate of South Plantation High School, class of 1985.

Reminiscent of California’s Hollywood Walk of Fame, Broward’s distinguished alumni are honored with large engraved granite stars on the BrightStar Credit Union “Walk of Fame,” permanently located at the Broward County Public Schools district office, 600 S.E. Third Ave., Fort Lauderdale.

In addition to Publix Super Markets Charities, Memorial Healthcare System, BrightStar Credit Union, JM Family Enterprises, Inc., Bank of America and Office Depot, sponsors include Pirtle Construction, PNC and Wells Fargo.

For other information visit, call 754-321-2030 or e-mail