CHAPEL HILL, N.C. (AP) _ The United States Basketball Writers Association has created an annual award in honor of late North Carolina Hall of Fame coach Dean Smith.

The Dean Smith Award will go to anyone associated with college basketball who embodies “the spirit and values represented by Smith.” The USBWA announced the award at a news conference Wednesday in the campus arena bearing Smith’s name.

Current Hall of Fame coach and former Smith assistant Roy Williams attended along with Smith’s widow, Linnea, and son Scott.

Smith retired in 1997 as the winningest coach in men’s Division I history. He died in February after years of declining health.

USBWA president Pat Forde of Yahoo Sports says the group will present the first award before the start of next season.