achievers_web.jpgDEERFIELD BEACH — Six outstanding individuals were honored during the 21st annual African-American Achievers awards ceremony on April 18 at the Broward County Convention Center.

Nearly 1,000 guests recognized the 2013 African-American Achievers: Dinizulu Gene Tinnie, Arts & Culture honoree; Albert and Bérénice Chauvet, Business & Entrepreneurism honorees; Newton B. Sanon, Community Service honoree; Fedrick Ingram, Education honoree; and Rashard Johnson, recipient of the Jerome Edmund Gray Youth Achiever Award presented by The Jim Moran Foundation.

The event hosted by Calvin Hughes, evening news anchor for WPLG Local 10, featured an energetic opening performance by the Walker Elementary School Marching Band. Dillard High School Air Force Junior ROTC cadets presented the colors during the Pledge of Allegiance and National Anthem performed by Dillard senior and saxophonist Markus Howell. Perry Stokes, a 2010 Achiever, closed the program by singing Greatest Love of All.

The event is sponsored by JM Family Enterprises, Southeast Toyota Distributors and JM Lexus.