FORT LAUDERDALE — Five Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) students have been named as National Merit $2,500 Scholarship winners by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

The students were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding finalists in the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The five students, their home schools and their probable career fields of futurer study are:

Bryan Blette, J. P. Taravella High School, Economics;

Sonali Argade, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Entrepreneurship/Music;

Joshua M. Feinzig, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Government Service;

Elizabeth A. Myers, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Medicine;

Edward Yin, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Actuarial Science.

The students were selected by a committee of college admission officers and high school counselors and may use their awards at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university.

They were determined to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies.