neki_mohan.jpgMIAMI — In the Company of Women, presented by Macy’s and Enterprise Holdings, will celebrate its Silver Jubilee during an annual awards ceremony and reception recognizing 14 women who have helped shape the South Florida community through their artistic talents, business acumen, pioneering spirit, ingenuity and courage.

Timed to coincide with Women’s History Month, the 25th Annual In the Company of Women Awards Presentation will take place on Thursday, March 7, beginning at 7 p.m. at the Rusty Pelican, 3201 Rickenbacker Cswy. in Key Biscayne.  Local news anchor Neki Mohan will serve as mistress of ceremonies.

Tickets to the reception and awards ceremony are $50 ($60 at the door). Contributions of $250 and above also afford young women from Miami-Dade Park’s Girls Empowerment and Mentoring (GEM) Program and the Girl Scouts’ Get Real! Mentoring Program an opportunity to attend the event. 

Advance tickets can be purchased at For more information call Victoria
Mallette at 305-755-7804 or Vivian Greer-Digon at 305-271-0812.

This year’s honorees include:

Mayor’s Pioneer Award — Marie Osborne, Esq., chief assistant public defender, Juvenile Division, 11th Judicial Circuit of Florida.

Arts & Entertainment — Rosie Gordon-Wallace, executive director/curator, Diaspora Vibe Cultural Arts Incubator, Inc.

Business & Economics — Gabriele Marewski, founder and owner of Paradise Farms Organic.

Communications & Literature — Anne Cruz, acting director, Center for the Humanities, University of Miami, Department of Modern Languages and Literature, College of Arts and Sciences.

Education & Research — Jacqueline Foster-Moody, opera singer and music educator at Coral Reef Elementary School, Dade County Public Schools. 

Government & Law (Elected) – Hon. Anitere Flores, Florida State senator, District 38.

Government & Law (Elected) – Hon. Lisa Walsh, Circuit Court judge, Civil Division

Government & Law (Non-Elected) – Katherine W. Ezell, Esq., partner, Podhurst Orseck, P.A.

Health & Human Services – Sonjia Kenya, assistant professor, Family Medicine & Community Health, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine.

Science & Technology – Susan Markley, chief, EECO Division of the Miami-Dade County Regulatory and Economic Resources Department.

Sports & Athletics – Amy Deem, head coach, U.S. Women’s Olympic Track & Field; head coach, University of Miami Track & Field.

Community Spirit Award – Constance Collins, Esq., president, The Sundari Foundation, Inc., d/b/a Lotus House Women’s Shelter.

Community Spirit Award – Priscilla Dames-Blake, founder and president of Wingspan Seminars, LLC.

Posthumous Honors – Diana Cordova-Peña, Miami-Dade Police officer from 2006 – 2012.

The event is hosted by the Miami-Dade County Commission for Women and Miami Dade Parks, Recreation and Open Spaces, in partnership with the non-profit Parks Foundation of Miami-Dade; and made possible by the support of sponsors including Macy’s, Enterprise Holdings, Florida Power and Light, AT&T and others.

Proceeds support parks and parks programming, including recreational scholarships for underserved children.