chris_smith_98.jpgTALLAHASSEE — The Florida League of Cities is recognizing 16 state legislators, including Sen. Christopher L. Smith of Fort Lauderdale, Rep. Hazel Rogers of Lauderdale Lakes, Sen. Jeff Clemens of Lake Worth and Rep. Mark S. Pafford of West Palm Beach with Legislative Appreciation Awards, for their efforts to protect the home rule powers of Florida’s cities by supporting the League’s legislative agenda during the 2013 legislative session.

Legislative Appreciation Award recipients are lawmakers who advocate on behalf of the league and its member cities time after time, officials said, and consistently voted in support of league positions, offered amendments to help prevent preemptions and unfunded mandates, or worked behind the scenes to rally support for league positions during the 2013 legislative session.
“On behalf of Florida’s 410 cities and the thousands of municipal officials, both elected and appointed, the Florida League of Cities and its lobbying team are proud to recognize these home rule advocates for their continued support,” said Florida League of Cities Legislative Director Scott Dudley.
“We believe the government closest to the people should make the decisions that affect the quality of life of the citizens they have been elected to represent. We owe these men and women a great deal of thanks.”
League appreciation also went to state Sens. Jack Latvala of Clearwater, David Simmons of Altamonte Springs and Wilton Simpson of Trilby; as well as state Reps. Matt Caldwell of Lehigh Acres, Steve Crisafulli of Merritt Island, Ed Hooper of Clearwater, George R. Moraitis Jr. of Fort Lauderdale, Jimmy Patronis of Panama City, Kathleen M. Peters of South Pasadena, Dan Raulerson of Plant City, Jim Waldman of Coconut Creek, and Ritch Workman of Melbourne.