community_chest_web.jpgBROWARD – Coral Springs Community Chest recently awarded more than $60,000 in grants to local organizations that have a service or program benefiting Coral Springs residents.

Tavolino Della Nonna in Coral Springs underwrote the luncheon attended by representatives from 26 funded organizations, Coral Springs Community Chest board trustees and members of the honorary board of  trustees including Coral Springs Mayor Vince Boccard, Vice Mayor Tom Powers, Commissioner Claudette Bruck and Broward County Commissioner Stacy Ritter.

“We applaud the work of all of the organizations we funded this year,” said Maria Pierson, vice chair of funding for the Coral Springs Board of Trustees. “They continue to bring much-needed services and programs to the residents of Coral Springs.  We also want to thank our many supporters who fund us throughout the years, particularly Tavolino’s for their hospitality.”

This year’s funded organizations were: 211-Broward, Aging and Disability Resource Center, Alzheimer’s Family Center, ARC Broward, Broward Health, Broward Housing Solutions, Center for Hearing and Communication, Challenger Baseball, Children’s Harbor, Covenant House, Equine-Assisted Therapies of South Florida, Family Central, Florida Initiative for Suicide Prevention, Friends of Music, Girl Scouts, Henderson Behavioral Health, Impact Broward, Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship Fund, Light of the World Clinic, Lighthouse of Broward County, Make-A-Wish of Southern Florida, Mental Health Association,Prestige Club, Sawgrass Nature Center, Jeffrey R. Smith Memorial Scholarship Fund, SOS Children’s Village and Women in Distress.

Coral Springs Community Chest was founded in 1988 on the premise that community resources should provide forcommunity needs.  Thereis no paid staff so 98 percent of the money is reinvested back to community.

The non-profit Coral Springs Community Chest is funded by corporate and private donations, special events and promotions. 

The members of board of trustees are Kevin Barrett, Maureen Berk, Cindy Brief, Jeff Campol, Brenda Clark, Susan Grant, Connie Guice, Pat Mirabello, Cort Neimark, Maria Pierson, Alice Zendel Simon and Janice Zaitz.