TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (AP) _ More than 4,000 state and local officials and public employees have missed Florida's July 1 financial disclosure deadline.
Florida Ethics Commission executive director Virlinda Doss told the panel on Friday that it will cost taxpayers $4.75 to send a certified letter to each of the 4,284 violators _ a total of $20,349.
Doss said they'll be notified there's a grace period until Sept. 4. After that they'll face an automatic fine of $25 for every day that disclosures are late up to a maxim of $1,500.
Citizens can also file complaints with the commission against officials or employees who file late or not at all. Those complaints can lead to additional fines of up to $10,000.
The commission, though, has little power to enforce the fines.