elginjones.gifbrad.JPGMIAMI – Two employees of the South Florida Times have been selected as finalists for awards from the South Florida Association of Black Journalists.

Elgin Jones, leader of the newspaper’s investigative help team, and Bradley C. Bennett, the newspaper’s executive editor, will be recognized at the association’s annual Scholarship and Awards reception on Aug. 23 at the historic Lyric Theatre in Miami. Winners will be announced at the ceremony.

The organization, a regional chapter of the National Association of Black Journalists, will also honor veteran Channel 10 anchorman Dwight Lauderdale, who retired earlier this year, with a scholarship in his name.

Proceeds from the luncheon will benefit the South Florida Black Journalists Association’s Rochelle Bridges Memorial Scholarship and the newly named Dwight D. Lauderdale Journalism Scholarship. 

Other finalists include: Trenton Daniel, Jennifer Mooney Piedra and Robert Samuels of The Miami Herald; Rod Hagwood, Tiffany Ellis and Omar Kelly of the South Florida Sun-Sentinel; Chuck Strouse, Isaiah Thompson, Tamara Lush, Patrice Yursik, Bob Norman and Janine Zeitlin of the New Times; and Natalie Zea of WFOR-TV 4.

If You Go:

What: South Florida Black Journalists Association’s Scholarship and Awards Reception.

Where: The Lyric Theatre, 819 N.W. 2nd Ave., Miami.

When: Saturday, Aug. 23 from 1 to 4 p.m.

Cost: $25 for members and $35 for non-members.

Contact: Emiene Wright by phone, 305-757-0727 or by email, sfbja@hotmail.com


Pictured above are Elgin Jones, left, and Bradley C. Bennett, right.