Staff Report

Students have until Aug. 22 to enroll in Broward County Public School’s new Public Works Academy, a product of a partnership between Atlantic Technical College and the American Public Works Association – South Florida Branch.

The program is a combination of classroom instruction at the Atlantic Technical College campus in Coconut Creek and job shadowing with Broward County Public Works employees.

Students in the Public Works Academy will learn about orientation and safety; tools and equipment used in public works; water treatment and distribution; wastewater treatment and collections; storm water systems; equipment operations and maintenance; technical design and drafting; solid waste disposal; parks, buildings and grounds; operating a computer and using software; utility locations; traffic operations; the gas industry, and the importance of professional ethics and legal responsibilities. In addition, students will prepare for the OSHA 10-Hour certification and CPR/Basic Life Support (BLS).

The goal of the partnership is to raise awareness of the careers available in public works, train students for entry-level employment positions and offer continuing education for career public works professionals in the future. The academy will provide career path information for students; recruit and train students for entry-level jobs in the public works field; and guide students to achieve valuable certifications. The partnership aims to prepare students for entry-level jobs upon graduation.

Atlantic Technical College is a public, secondary and post-secondary institution operating under the authority of the School Board of Broward County and the Florida Department of Education.

The school first opened its doors in August 1973 to 450 students in 11 programs of instruction. McFatter Technical and Sheridan Technical are also a part of the Broward Public Schools system.

The technical colleges admit students who have completed their secondary school education; are past the minimum compulsory education age; or are high school students (through their high school guidance department).

 For additional information visit,