dwyane_wade_web.jpgMIAMI — The NBA has announced that Miami Heat players LeBron James and Dwyane Wade have been named starters for the Eastern Conference in a vote by fans for the 61st NBA All-Star Game.

The game will be played at the Amway Center in Orlando on Sunday, Feb. 26.

James finished as the top vote-getting forward in the Eastern Conference, with 1,360,680 votes. His latest All-Star appearance will be the eighth consecutive one for the two-time NBA All-Star MVP (2006 and 2008).

In his previous seven All-Star appearances, all starts, James averaged 24.4 points, 7.1 rebounds, 6.0 assists, 1.57 steals and 30.7 minutes while shooting 51.1 percent from the line. His 24.4 points per game All-Star average is the highest in NBA All-Star history.

Wade, the 2010 NBA All-Star MVP, finished with the second-highest votes for an Eastern Conference guard, with 1,334,223 votes.  This will be his eighth consecutive ALL-Star appearance also and his seventh straight year as a starter.

In his All-Star appearances, Wade has averaged 16.9 points, 4.0 assists, 3.3 rebounds, 2.71 steals and 25.4 minutes. He hit the game-winning field goal in the 2006 All-Star Game. His eight appearances and seven starts are Heat franchise records.

James and Wade will be joined by Orlando Magic center Dwight Howard, Chicago Bulls guard Derrick Rose and New York Knicks forward Carmelo Anthony in the Eastern Conference starting lineup.

The Western Conference starters are Los Angeles Clippers forward Blake Griffin, Oklahoma City Thunder forward Kevin Durant, Los Angeles Lakers center Andrew Bynum, Los Angeles Lakers guard Kobe Bryant and Los Angeles Clippers guard Chris Paul.

The reserves for the two conferences will be selected by the league’s 30 head coaches and will be announced on this Thursday, Feb. 9, on TNT.


ALL-STAR:  Dwyane Wade