The 2013-2014 Emerging Young Leaders (EYL) mentoring program of the Gamma Zeta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. concluded the club year with an inspiring graduation ceremony on June 1 for the eighth grade participants. The students, who hail from throughout the South Florida community, entertained and impressed parents, guests, and sorority members with their talent and oratorical skills in the sanctuary of the New Way Fellowship Praise and Worship Church in Miami Gardens. The keynote address was delivered by Dr. Glenda Baskin Glover, president of Tennessee State University (TSU). The graduates, and their parents, were pleasantly surprised when Glover presented each young lady with a $1,000 scholarship to TSU. Congratulations to:  Victoria Baldwin, HaLi Braynon, Khaila Dennis, A’Miya Feagin, Ashlee Pratt, Victoria Pressley, Dakaia Rutherford, Nia Seymour, Ericka Sherman, Aaliyah Thomas, Daija Wimes and Desma Wimes. Wanda Hewitt and Deborah Varnadore-Simmons are the EYL chairpersons, and Eunice J. Davis is the chapter’s president.

Members of the Chi Psi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. recently observed Asthma Awareness Month.  A seminar was held to provide parents of child asthma sufferers with best practices to reduce the number of emergency room and doctor office visits.  Participants were treated to a plethora of invaluable resources and enjoyed healthy snacks. The chapter partnered with Broward County Public Schools, the American Lung Association and Coordinated Student Health Services. Among those seen on the scene at Attucks Middle School were: Ernestine Bobb, Andrew Cuddihy, Quowanda Ford-Brown, Malikh Franklin-Williams, Andrea Hightower, Brandi Joseph, Barbara J. Thomas, Luwando  Wright-Haynes. Veronica E. Phillips is the chapter’s president.

The Miami-Dade Council of the National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) recently held its 65th Founders Day and Scholarship Jazz Brunch at the Intercontinental Doral. The Divine 9 celebrated service, collaboration and education as they awarded $6,000 in college scholarships to outstanding high school seniors. The group also feted 50-year sorority and fraternity members from Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority and Omega Psi Phi Fraternity with “Golden Awards” for their unwavering community spirit. The “Soror of the Year” and the “Frater of the Year” awards went to Pierrela Jean-Baptiste (Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority) and Ahmad Newbold (Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity), respectively. The Eta Kappa Sigma Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority and the Rho Sigma Chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity walked away with the coveted attendance award. The event concluded with a moving litany of remembrance and rededication led by Marhonté Tennial, president of the NPHC Miami-Dade Council. Jean-Baptiste served as the luncheon chairperson.