Miami, Fla. – More than 150 people attended this year’s in-person annual ceremony as the Black Affairs Advisory Board’s (BAAB) Heritage Planning Committee hosted its annual “Community Pillar” awards and scholarship presentation June 4 at the Miami Marriott’s Bay Hotel.

This year’s Community Pillars are:

• Sarah Amofah – President of the United Ghanaians Association of South Florida

• Dr. Lumana Joseph – President & CEO of Lumana Physical Therapy & Wellness Center

• Dr. Joann Jeffrey McCants (posthumously)

• Dr. John McAdory – Family physician, South Miami Dade

• Dr. Stephanie Russell – Pastor and community activist, Miami Gardens

• Dr. Graylyn SwilleyWoods – Executive director Overtown Children & Youth Coalition

• William Berry – Able Business Services

This year’s Corporate Pillar Award was presented to Jason Jenkins, Miami Dolphins senior vice president, Communications and Community Affairs.

The Black Heritage Planning Committee also is awarding scholarships to seven Young Pillars:

• Camrin Thompson – Florida A&M University

• Kevin Cooper – Florida Memorial University

• Rochelle M. Michel – Miami Dade College

• Esosa Izevbigie – Florida International University

• Jibril Ali Rashid – University of Central Florida

• Yasmin Watson –Clark At-lanta University

• Lorenzo Nelson – Florida A&M University

The Greater Miami Convention & Visitor Bureau’s Black Hospitality Initiative (BHI), and the BAAB also recognized three students with scholarships as part of their annual collaboration: Bryant Church, Hotel/Lodging Management (Florida International University); Golden, Culinary Arts (Miami Dade College); Zaire and Alden Cross, Restaurant Management (Miami-Dade College).

The Black Hospitality Initiative is a not-for-profit organization working to encourage equitable economic and increased workforce participation of African Americans and Blacks of African Descent in the Greater Miami Visitor Industry. View more of the event on the Facebook page of @BlackAffairsAB and @AdvocacyMDC.