Ten women will be honored at this year’s Women of Distinction Awards Breakfast hosted by the Lauderhill Regional Chamber of Commerce.


Staff Report

LAUDERHILL, Fla. – The Lauderhill Regional Chamber of Commerce has announced the names of the honorees for the 5th Annual Women of Distinction Awards Breakfast powered by the Florida Panthers. Themed, “I AM,” honorees will be awarded in front of family, friends and colleagues on Friday, March 2nd, 7:30 a.m., at the BB&T Center (1 Panther Pkwy, Sunrise, FL33323).

“This year’s theme of “I Am” is powerful. So often in life, we let others define us and rob us of our strength. By defining themselves, these phenomenal women claim their power and serve as an example for all of us. These doors become unlocked by telling our story and fulfilling our potential,” said Lauderhill Regional Chamber of Commerce President Sharon McLennon. “I hope that everyone will take advantage of this opportunity to meet these incredible women and attend the Awards Breakfast. Please purchase your tickets early as this event is sold out every year,” she shared.

After being nominated in November, ten of Broward County’s most influential women were selected to receive awards.

They include: Melida Akiti, Vice President of Ambulatory Care, Memorial Healthcare System; Major Nichole Anderson, Broward Sheriff’s Office; Marcia Barry-Smith, Director of Community Outreach and Program Services, Habitat for Humanity; Scarlette Adrienne Clarke, Director of Marketing, Yellow Cab Broward; Bertha Watson Henry, County Administrator, Broward County; Dr. Winnifred McPherson, CEO, Virtue Medical Staffing Services, LLC; Jackie Nespral, Television Anchor, NBC 6; Juliet Murphy Roulhac, Regional Manager for Corporate External Affairs, Florida Power & Light Company; Djénane St. Fleur Gourgue, Vice President, Haitian American Chamber of Commerce; and Dr. Victoria Thurston, Retired Elementary School Principal.

The Annual Awards Breakfast is the hallmark event produced by LRCC to honor dynamic women in Broward County. Having sold out three years in a row, the breakfast is attended by influential entrepreneurs, professionals and public officials. Over the past five years, Women of Distinction alumni include power players like: Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz, former Broward County Mayor Barbara Sharief, Broward County Judge Ilona Holmes, Urban League of Broward County CEO Germaine Smith-Baugh, and other influential women.

For vendor and sponsorship information, please contact 954-318-6118. Tickets are $75 per person, and a table of 10 can be purchased for $700.