FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. – As it celebrates its 35th year of aligning with Broward County Public Schools to encourage educational excellence, six graduates of Broward County Public Schools will be inducted into Broward Education Foundation’s Hall of Fame.

The honors will occur during the Publix Super Markets Charities 2018 “Hall of Fame Breakfast” presented by Memorial Healthcare System at 7:30 a.m. on Friday, Oct. 12 at First Baptist FTL – Global Grille, 301 E. Broward Blvd. in Fort Lauderdale.

Receiving the Bank of America Community Achievement Award for significant achievements in any field are:

Jeffrey R. Dion, a graduate of the class of 1985 from Nova High School and executive director of the National Compassion Fund, which partnered with Broward Education Foundation to disseminate proceeds from the official Stoneman Douglas Victims’ Fund Christopher L. Smith, corporate attorney with Tripp Scott Conklin & Smith and member of the class of 1988 at Plantation High School.

Bob Swindell, CEO of the Greater Fort Lauderdale Alliance and graduate of Boyd Anderson High School, class of 1979.

The three inductees who will receive the Charter Schools of Excellence Education Achievement Award for their dedication to a career in public education are:

Angeline H. Flowers, principal of Charles Drew Elementary School and graduate of South Broward High School, class of 1991.

Barbara J. Myrick, general counsel for the School Board of Broward County, FL and member of the class of 1966 at Fort Lauderdale High School.

Michael J. Ramirez, cadre director of the Office of School & Performance Accountability for Broward County Public Schools and Western High School graduate, class of 1991.

In lieu of its annual Lifetime Achievement Award, this year Broward Education Foundation will honor those lost in the February 14 tragedy with the JM Family Enterprises, Inc. Special Tribute to the Marjory Stoneman Douglas 17 Fallen Eagles.

“Each year it is our privilege to recognize some of the most exemplary, accomplished and distinguished graduates of Broward County Public Schools,” said Shea Ciriago, executive director of Broward Education Foundation, which is celebrating its 35th anniversary this year. “We take great pride in welcoming these inspiring leaders into the Hall of Fame class of 2018. They are truly making a difference in our community and in education.”

Immediately following the breakfast, the BrightStar Credit Union “Walk of Fame”

Alumni star unveiling for the honorees will take place at the Broward County Public Schools District Office, 600 S.E. Third Ave., Fort Lauderdale.

In addition to Publix Super Markets Charities, Memorial Healthcare System, BrightStar Credit Union, JM Family Enterprises, Inc., Bank of America and Charter Schools of Excellence, other sponsors also include D. Stephenson Construction, Inc., Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina and Wells Fargo.

For more information, call 754-321-2030, visit