aida_web.jpgFORT LAUDERDALE — High school theater students from 13 public, private and charter schools throughout Broward and Palm Beach counties took home awards from the Critics’ Awards Program — or Cappies for short — at the 10th Annual Cappies Awards Gala held on May 15 in the Au-Rene Theater at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts.

Boca Raton Community High School took home the most awards with nine including Best Musical for its production of Crazy for You, which won more awards than any other musical.

South Plantation High School's production of The Yellow Boat was named Best Play and was the most honored play having garnered five awards.

Award winners were determined by votes from the students themselves through a weighted peer review voting process. 

The ceremony was presented with support from the Broward Center for the Performing Arts, which has hosted the awards since the South Florida chapter was founded in 2002 as a part of the national nonprofit organization honoring high school theater programs.

Winners by School
American Heritage Center for the Arts — 4
Archbishop McCarthy High School — 4
Boca Raton Community High School — 9
Cardinal Gibbons High School — 2
Deerfield Beach High School — 1
JP Taravella High School — 6
Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School — 3
North Broward Preparatory — 2
Pope John Paul II High School — 1
Sagemont School — 1
South Plantation High School — 5
St. Thomas Aquinas — 1
West Boca High School — 3

American Heritage Center for the Arts
(Phantom of the Opera)
Song: Masquerade
Male Vocalist: Joshua Grosso
Female Vocalist: Chandler Morehead
Orchestra: AHS Orchestra

Archbishop McCarthy High School
(12 Angry Men)
Lead Actor in a Play: Ryan Avalos
Supporting Actor in a Play: Aaron Herrera
Supporting Actress in a Play: Gabriella Fernandez
Featured Actor in a Play: Erin McLaughlin

Boca Raton Community High School
(Crazy for You)
Best Musical Featured Actress in a Musical: Christine Homrich
Male Dancer: Kyle Laing
Ensemble in a Musical: Follies Girls
Lighting: Phineas Agar, Kelsey Powers and Loren Stoller
Stage Crew: Catt Mucklow and Crew
Props: Kathleen Sharp, Cayla Rosenthal, Harry Senior, Meghana Goola Special FX and
Technology: Kelley Cunningham, Kristie Liebel and Rusty Whitehead
Sophomore Critic: Eliana Meyerowitz

Cardinal Gibbons
(Into the Woods)
Comic Actress in a Musical: Christina Senesi
Marketing and Publicity: Susan Curry

Deerfield Beach High School
Comic Actor in a Play: Giovanni Falzone

JP Taravella High School
(The Wiz)
Supporting Actor in a Musical: Christian Frost
Comic Actor in a Musical: Zack Cagan
Featured Actor in a Musical: Patrick Saxer
Female Dancer: Mackenzie Kitson
Costumes: Megan Raham and crew
Make-up: Angie Taube and crew

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School
Choreography: Dakota Demato and Monica Vetter
Senior Critic: Abigail Hummel Critic’s’ Team


AIDA: The Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School production snagged three awards, including for choreography.